Day Six: Getting comfortable with a longer distance

Sunday 21st August 2016.

Struggling a little bit today. You can run as many miles as you like but playing 70-90 minutes in a football match always seems to have the biggest effect on the leg muscles, particularly on an firm pitch.

I’m about to head out for what should be another 8.4k run.It may seem a non-specific distance but the route is just challenging enough and convenient enough in proximity to my house for it to be suitable. I imagine I will run a slower time than Friday but as long as I run under 40 minutes I will be happy. I would usually run 10k in about 43 to 45 minutes so I definitely can improve my time for the 8.4k but I will worry about that closer to the time of the half marathon.



 

The run felt strong and my legs didn’t seem to suffer too badly. I posted a time of 35:36:29 which I’m very happy with given I’d set anything under 40 minutes as my target.

While the weekend has been good sports-wise it has possibly brought a cost also. The shin on my right leg is beginning to hurt quite a bit and had been threatening to for the last few days so I will have to monitor it for the next week or so. In reality it will most probably be fine but I really don’t want to be stuck with even a slight pain come race day.

I will rest from running  tomorrow to give my legs some respite but I plan to do some strength and/or conditioning work at the gym. I usually follow a guide from ‘Runners’ World’. It’s simple and explains each exercise very well.

 

Leave a comment